Event at a glance

Day 1
2 December 2013
8.30am – 5.00pm

Day 2
3 December 2013
8.30am – 5.00pm

Events Link


Subscribe to the printed version of FutureGov

Futuregov Link


Since 2010, FutureGov Summit Australia has affirmed its position as Australia’s premier ICT Government gathering, bringing together senior public servants from Australia with their overseas counterparts, to collaborate on the latest ICT developments impacting government service delivery. In 2012, the summit was attended by over 200 senior government officials, with over 40 speakers from federal, state and international government agencies.

The Australian Public Service ICT strategy 2012-2015 is guiding the decision to align and develop common approaches to ICT across the Australian Government. Key issues being tackled include, collaborating in new ways across and outside public service boundaries to increase on government‘s investment to deliver holistic and personalised services, aligning ICT to meet government business needs; and building a networked government.

Do not miss on attending FutureGov Summit Australia 2-3 December 2013, Canberra for the chance to engage with your peers and discuss the future direction and changes for ICT following the election.

The Hon Malcolm Turnbull, MP
Minister for Communications, Member for Wentworth
Parliament of Australia, Canberra

Glenn Archer
Australian Government CIO
Australian Government Information Management Office

Dr Peter Lawrence
Chief Information Officer
Department of Defence, Canberra, Australia

Peter Alexander
Chief Information Officer
Department of The Treasury, Canberra, Australia

Professor John McMillan AO
Australian Information Commissioner
The Office of Australian Information Commissioner, Canberra

Gary Pettigrove
Chief Information Officer
Australian National Audit Office, Australian Government

Highlights Include:

  • 30 international government IT leaders will be flown in, not just as speakers but as active roundtable participants, giving Australian government delegates the chance to engage with them personally
  • FutureGov’s trademark interactive discussion table (IDT) format means less listening to presentations and more participating in open discussion, debate and information sharing
  • Delegate invitations are only open to government participants, meaning you will be in a room full of your government peers
  • Live interactive polling with real time feedback and comparisons to other FutureGov events around the region
  • Network during the breaks on our technology showcase floor and review the latest product developments and solutions that will help drive innovation, transformation, efficiency and more open government in 2014 and beyond
  • Relax and unwind with your peers and the end of the day at our networking cocktail reception
  • Co-located with our inaugural GovCFO Forum ANZ, giving the chance to network with your senior finance colleagues as well

Paul Bartley
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Program Support
United States Department of Health and Human Services

Rob Bectel
Chief Technology Officer
Department of Energy, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, USA

Stephen Kelly
Chief Operating Officer
UK Government

Darren Scates
Chief Information Officer
Department for Communities and Local Government, UK

Matt O’Mara
Former Chief Information and Technology Officer, Central Agencies Shared Services (CASS)
Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, State Services Commission and the Treasury, NZ

Topics include:

  • Personalised Services — balancing innovation and emerging technology investments to deliver government’s personalised services of the future
  • Open Data — why developing a holistic approach to open data is most useful and important?
  • Digital Government — examining the impact of collaborating in new ways across and outside the public service boundaries to build a 21st century digital government
  • ICT Investment — rethinking investment and how it supports the achievement of the desired outcomes
  • Future Government — looking at the shape of government in 5, 10, even 15 years from now
  • Emerging Technologies and Opportunities — discussing new technologies and emerging opportunities that are transforming the business of government
  • ICT Governance — creating a greater transparency and management of ICT investment

Interactive Roundtable Format

FutureGov Summit Australia 2013 uniquely features energised roundtable discussions involving all conference participants simultaneously. Themed roundtables focus on the topics that matter most to government, guaranteeing a series of high-level strategic conversations.

Networking opportunities

The Summit is an exclusive invitation-only event for only the most senior government officials from Federal and ACT Government

Who will attend:

  • Chief Information Officers
  • Secretaries
  • Chief Executive Officers
  • Chief Technology Officers
  • General Managers of IT
  • Directors & Heads of IT and related functions

Past attendees include:

  • Australian National Audit Office
  • Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority
  • Australian Postal Corporation
  • Australian Reinsurance Pool Corporation
  • Australian Research Council
  • Australian Taxation Office
  • Barwon Health
  • Bureau of Meteorology
  • Clean Energy Regulator
  • ComSuper
  • Crim Trac
  • CSIRO Australia
  • Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
  • Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy
  • Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency
  • Department of Defence
  • Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations
  • Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and
  • Indigenous Affairs
  • Department of Finance and Deregulation
  • Department of Finance and Deregulation
  • Department of Health and Ageing
  • Department of Human Services
  • Department of Immigration and Citizenship
  • Department of Industry, Innovation, Science, Research and Tertiary
  • Education
  • Department of Infrastructure and Transport
  • Department of Parliamentary Services
  • Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and
  • Communities
  • Department of Territory and Municipal Services
  • Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
  • Department of Veterans’ Affairs
  • Fair Work Ombudsman
  • Geoscience Australia
  • Government Of South Australia
  • Insolvency and Trustee Service Australia
  • Integrated Design Commission, South Australia
  • Intellectual Property Australia
  • Lifeline Australia
  • National Health and Medical Research Council
  • National ICT Australia (NICTA)
  • Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency
  • The Treasury
  • University of Canberra
  • Tweed Shire Council
  • University of New South Wales
  • University of Sydney

Conference Brochure

Request the full brochure in PDF format